Sunday, August 1, 2010

Its "Common Wealth" and "Soap Cricket"!

Two passers-by along a road in Delhi were eating peanuts and discussing mundane stuff. They come across a construction.

So one guy asks, “Whats that? That place’s been frantic for months now and seems like it'll be a long time”

The other replies, “Oh you don’t know?! That’s one of the stadiums for the Common Wealth Games.”

 “But that’s in two months!” the first guy says, his peanut missing its intended target and hitting his nose.

“I know. We are under-prepared. We can only hope for the best. And hope the administration is doing much more than just hoping!” he responds, laughing heartily at his own profound sarcasm.

Elsewhere, a minister opens a new stadium for the Games. And sloppily, the stadium was leaking due to multifarious reasons not understandable to common folk. The minister notices this and says to his company, “Oh, it seems there is a provision for continuous supply of rain and groundwater”, obviously missing the point. He was then silently taken aside and explained that they were having some plumber issues.

He later declared to the media, “This is one of the world class state-of-the-art facilities being built for the Games” covering his nose to avoid the stench of leaking drainage.

The Games committee was also reported considering applying for Guinness Book for most number of stadiums constructed in the shortest time, provided they stand without collapsing for the duration of the games. An episode of Extreme Engineering is also being planned as per rumours.

As of now their hands are full with the on-going corruption allegations regarding the funds for the Games. The administration seems to have taken the meaning "common wealth" too literally.

Late in the evening yesterday an anonymous official was seen at a pub, and under the sublime effects of booze talked freely to the public around.

“.....you guys(the public) are really gullible. This is just the tip of the iceberg. After this, we will apply for Olympics. Just imagine the money we’ll earn then!” he told, mocking at them with his hands at his ears and his tongue lolling.

But he did not realise others were drunk too and as per eye-witnesses, he escaped with his clothes barely on.

In unrelated news, a PIL was filed for banning broadcast of soap cricket. It was argued that so-called “daily soap” cricket matches of India-Sri Lanka were having an adverse effect on public. It observed that a new phobia of cricket between India and Sri Lanka called “Indolankophobia” was being detected by doctors. Symptoms ranged from falling unconscious to tendency to jump from rooftops on being told another match was scheduled.

The recent test match did not help matters with 50% of patients additionally wanting to tear their clothes and pull their hair off. Doctors recommended seeing matches between England and Pakistan, especially those with IndoLankophobia.

Also, the recently concluded test between England and Pakistan offered newspapers juicy stuff. It will be fun to see who comes first with the clichéd headline “Pak of cards!”. Some observers told that Kamran Akmal was trying to catch with the back of his hands and that it was great he did what he did, forget what he dropped.

And till further rumours come forth, be well.

Wednesday, March 24, 2010

A Beautiful Mind, Part 2

This is about probably the breakthrough of this decade!

Just when you give up saying that, in all probability you cannot motivate yourself to blog again, something like this happens. A queer yet profound thing called Grigori Yakovlevich Perelman. Our definition of a reclusive genius.

I assumed after what happened, people would be lapping up news about our dear Grigori. Actually, not as many are. So, he is a Russian mathematician and what has he done? Oh nothing much, just solved one over-a-century-old problem in mathematics. He proved the Poincaré conjecture, posed in 1904 by Henry Poincaré (another insane polymath)  and regarded as one of the most important and difficult open problems in mathematics. The problem concerns the nature of three-dimensional space of finite extent and has eluded the best in business.

This is one of the seven million dollar Millennium Prize Problems posed by the Clay Mathematics Institute in 2000. No, literally, anyone who solves it will get a million dollars, no less. Even you and me. These seven were selected from numerous questions posed by great mathematicians. Some of them are centuries old. This was the first one to be solved! The problems, if proved, will be instrumental in numerous aspects.

Stunning, you may say. Now what? Again, nothing alarming, he has just rejected the prize! And as I said,  its easily the breakthrough of the decade. In fact, he is already notorious for such deeds. He rejected the Fields' Medal, bestowed upon him in 2006. The Fields' Medal is the equivalent to a Nobel (or an Oscar, for our more colorful readers). He probably regarded his contemporaries incompetent to award him the medal.

And guess what, he is currently jobless. Living with his mother and sister in St. Petersburg. He left mathematics, left as in totally left, before he got the Fields' Medal. Something about the lack of ethics among mathematicians or the like hurt him. You can only imagine the kind of functioning his mind has.

And guess what? He proved it in 2002. Now that you got used to his type, he did not publish it. Why would I publish the proof of one of most important problems and gain credit? Money? Thats for mortals. He posted it on the internet! As a part of a more elaborate research which he was doing. Word spread around and it took a better part of the decade for people to verify that he actually did it!

Of the lot many who tried, a reporter got hold of him. All he got was, “I am picking mushrooms, you are disturbing me”. Talk about dialogues!!

This is just a very small teaser, what I wrote. Dig up the net, you'll find lots more. Still reading about him and the seven questions and other related curiosities.

Expecting a movie on the lines of Beautiful Mind?

Wednesday, March 17, 2010

A Pastime....

the A4 page was not enough space :(....have many complaints about it....but here it is......

Wednesday, March 10, 2010

Goku/Piccolo/Vegeta.....DBZ only......

Goku again.....

12/03/10



11/03/10



09/03/10



 10/03/10



Give me any great pictures or suggestions guys :D

I can't comment on my own blog :( (net @ office) , so thanks in advance.....

Tuesday, March 2, 2010

Back with a.......post, nothing else

Hello!

What?

Yeah, its been a long time since I saw my own blog. Whaddu they call it? eons, ages, eras (and all such exaggerations).

But in reality it has only been two months (two months and a day for those pestering pedants).

You might ask me what kept me. The thing is you move only as fast as your experiences. I was doing pretty much the same thing for quite this while, as a matter of fact I doing more of that thing now. So there was nothing to write. And thats what kept me. There, now you know.

Among my attempts to break the norm, apart from reading a book here and there and trying to practice my flute, there is nothing worth mentioning :P. And those worth mention needed time.

So I decided to be a fast bowler(at least try being one). So I went into one cricket academy here in Baroda and asked THE guy,

“Hello, whats the timing of this place?”

Guy: “Who are you? What do you want?”

'Pavan. I work here, I wanted to know the timings of the academy'

'How old is the kid?' (Slap!)

'Oh no no, am 22 yrs old'

'Woh theek hai? Par bachha kitne saal ka hai?' (!)

'Its for me, I want to play' (there's no kid :x)

He told the timings, which clashed perfectly with my office timings, like fate. I felt bad.

He then gave me a good hard look and then said to the another guy.

'Forget cricket. He are now in a job, concentrate on it. Cricket is only till college. I tell my students the same th..........' (Upon which I said a meek thank you and slipped off.)

People, bah.

Among other events, CAT this time was like..so many ppl!

If people are trying to hide or trying to tell something these few days, it most probably is their CAT percentile. I expected a rough figure, but every guy around has attempted it!

You know its like these attacks when people die. The official number is 10 and real no. is, well, 40 or so. I felt something like that. Every other guy springing across the street with percentiles (A rather morbid example, don't mind).

So, If anyone has any fascinating idea that does not involve much time, feels good to do and is legal, please ping me!


PS: In case anyone's wondering why the hell I wrote this, no real reason. Feels good see latest dates on the blog. I can pat my back later and say “March was not an orphan!”

Thursday, December 31, 2009

What was that again?! I forgot...

Wish you a Jolly New Year 2010!

First thing, I found 2010 most comfortable to type of all the years I have typed so far. So I predict a cracking year for, well welll, some or the other guy. And we will finally stop the awkward practice of putting letters between numbers (remember the 'k' in 2k7 2k8 etc?)

People wishing around new year must be great guys, I never felt like going out of my way to wish anyone. Hey don't groan, I already wished you.

As far as resolutions go, I always thought it wasn't an Indian thing. Who started it at all? Anyways they generally end up being 're'solutions-repeated solutions and I already have too many reminders & sticky notes on me.

Coming to reminders and stuff, I have recently realized the magnitude of my forgetfulness. I had parents reminding me at home and friends surrounding me at college, but I am now out. A poor little innocent forgetful thing in the big busy complicated outside world (Well not exactly, but you get the swing).

I go into a room with something in my hand. If I accidentally find something new or talk about something I didn't plan to, I will surely forget it. No exceptions. This theory hasn't failed once.

I have one for you.

I have to lock the room in which we work(design dept.), before leaving. At first I used to forget to switch off the AC. I then remembered to. Then I to forget to lock. Gradually, I got over it. Then once, I forgot to give the key at the gate while leaving(others come early in morning, so they need it before me). So I made a plan, I kept the key in my hand till I got to my cycle. Then I hanged the key onto the left brake's handle before I got on so that I'll not forget about it after I put my earphones on(I listen to songs on the way home). But tragedy. I still forgot.

I realized there was a key to my brake when I was nearing home, I couldn't even go back (office is 10 km away). This is amazing given fact that from my cycle to the company gate, it is barely 100 metres. What can you call this? Instant memory loss!?

This is just one example. Many already know that during PS, I bought a pendrive. I then went to the ATM and by mistake drew Rs 4000 instead of 400. Consequently, I forgot my new pen drive there. I went and bought a new one next day. And stopped going to an ATM with a pendrive.

Its become so bad that I have started accounting forgetfulness into my daily calculations. While doing stuff I am not particularly interested, I always feel I forgot something and more often than not, I do.

So this new year, may I remember. May I forget forgetfulness. I already wished you a great year right?

Saturday, December 26, 2009

Put 3D models in ppts - Great presentations!

Found a way to put 3D models into presentations. Found it long ago actually, sharing now. Might help someone, who knows.

But it does make presentations attractive!

http://www.esnips.com/web/3Dmodelsinpptpdf .....examples here

Requirements:

1.A 3D modeling software (UG, ProE, CATIA etc) or Google SketchUp.
2.Deep View (Software to embed 3D models by Right Hemisphere)
3.Microsoft Office

You are done!

As soon as you install Deep View (http://www.righthemisphere.com/products/client-products/deep-view), it will go in as a plugin into Microsoft Office Powerpoint(It will appear as 'Deep View' in the main menu on top). This plugin will allow you to embed 3D models into your presentations.

You can insert models of the file extension .rh only.

For this, you have to open your 3D model using the Deep View application and then save it as a .rh file. Check out the file formats which Deep View supports – http://www.righthemisphere.com/_base/static/img/products/callouts/91_deep-view-6.0-supported-file-formats.pdf . You can generally go through the site, http://www.righthemisphere.com

The computer in which this file is present should atleast have Deep View Minimum installed, for the 3D model to work.

I presume you can publish a pdf also using the Deep View Menu in a ppt.

In pdf's you can insert 3D models directly but you'll need Adobe Professional. This feature is there since Adobe Professional 7. But I don't remember about the 3D file formats Adobe Pro accepts.